Arts & Human Rights

Arts & Human Rights Logo

“My people will sleep for one hundred years, but when they awake, it will be the artists who give them their spirit back.” - Louis Riel

In recognition of the Arts as an integral medium of learning and expression, the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) has launched The Arts and Human Rights Program (A+HR Programme). The objective of this powerful new initiative is to raise awareness and engage individuals in a multidisciplinary interrogation of human rights issues that is framed through various forms of creative artistic expression such as visual, performance, media, cinematographic, musical and literary arts.

The A+HR Programme is divided into three interrelated components: educational outreach, teaching and research.


Follow us on Twitter: @uOttawaHRREC

Images of Justice 2020: Children & Human Rights

Images of Justice 2020

#COVICATURE 2020

#COVICATURE - Cartoon Contest

An Image of Justice 2019: Genocide, Truth & Reconciliation

#COVICATURE - Cartoon Contest

Summer School on the Arts + Human Rights

Please note that the Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights will not be offered in 2020.

The Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) offered three Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights (AHR) under the theme Indigenous Arts and Culture between 2016 and 2018.

The goal of this course was to explore issues around the Art as a manifestation of human rights and as an instrument for the promotion of human rights. The course was open to students (for credit or not) as well as academics, government employees, NGO and IO staff, indigenous and community representatives, artists, activists and cultural workers. The course featured leading scholars, practitioners and artists and the curriculum blended traditional and artistic pedagogical methods.

THE UNIVERSAL GAME - One Flag to Connect Us All

The Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) is delighted to present THE UNIVERSAL GAME. One flag to connect us all, an outreach art project from the Centre conceived and produced in 2015 by 233, Visiting Artist from the University of Seville.

See the teaser for THE UNIVERSAL GAME - One Flag to Connect Us All.

Conversation about the project with Viviana Fernandez and Artist 233.

The motivation for this project came from a desire to mark International Human Rights Day (December 10) through art. The concept entailed putting together pieces of flags reflecting the nationalities of uOttawa students in a large banner (canvas) displayed in a central location within campus. Elements of this jigsaw will included parts of flags and universal symbols such as the dove, the flame, the balance, etc.

In order to create the canvas, HRREC invited the uOttawa community to participate in a Jigsaw Day, Let’s Play!, a collective art performance. Once the game was finished, the resulting design was photographed and printed onto a vinyl banner. Pieces of the jigsaw were previously created in an art workshop also open to the public. The banner was unveiled to the uOttawa community on December 10, 2015.

The message is one of union, diversity and rich global exchange and inclusivity.

Important dates:

Contact the artist : rbb@us.es


This initiative was supported by the uOttawa Community Life Service, the uOttawa Department of Visual Arts, and the University of Seville. It was also registered within a call for action from the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.


One Flag to Connect Us All

 

Back to top

Les Arts & les Droits de la personne

Arts & Human Rights Logo

“My people will sleep for one hundred years, but when they awake, it will be the artists who give them their spirit back.” - Louis Riel

En guise de reconnaissance que les Arts forment un médium intégral d'apprentissage et d'expression, le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) a lancé le programme sur les arts et les droits de la personne (Programme A+DP). L'objectif de cette nouvelle et puissante initiative est de hausser le niveau de sensibilisation et d'inciter le public à participer à une réflexion multidisciplinaire sur des questions relevant des droits de la personne sous diverses formes d'expression artistiques créatives telles que les arts visuels, les arts du spectacle, les arts médiatiques, l'art cinématographique, les arts musicaux et littéraires.

Le programme A+DP est divisé en trois volets étroitement liés : éducation communautaire, enseignement et recherche.


Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @uOttawaHRREC

Images de la justice 2020 : Les enfants & les droits de la personne

Images de la Justice 2020

#COVICATURE 2020

#COVICATURE - Concours de caricatures

Une image de la justice: Génocide, Vérité & Réconciliation

#COVICATURE - Cartoon Contest

Cours d'été sur les Arts + Droits de la personne

Veuillez noter que le Cours d'été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne ne sera pas offert en 2020.

Le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) a offert, de 2016 à 2018, trois éditions du Cours d’été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne sous le thème de l’Art et la culture autochtones.

L’objectif du cours était d’explorer les problématiques liées aux arts comme manifestation des droits de la personne et comme instrument pour la promotion des droits de la personne. Le cours était ouvert aux étudiants (avec ou sans crédit), académiciens, employés du gouvernement, personnes qui travaillent dans des ONG et des organisations internationales, représentants autochtones ou communautaires, activistes, artistes et travailleurs culturels. Les animateurs du cours étaient des universitaires reconnus, des praticiens et des artistes et le cours a utilisé un mélange de méthodes pédagogiques traditionnelles et artistiques.

LE JEU UNIVERSEL - Un drapeau pour nous unir

Le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) est fier de vous présenter LE JEU UNIVERSEL - Un drapeau pour nous unir, un projet d’art communautaire conçu et produit en 2015 par le CREDP en collaboration avec 233, artiste en résidence de l'Université de Séville.

Visionnez la bande-annonce du projet LE JEU UNIVERSEL - Un drapeau pour nous unir.

Conversation à propos du projet avec Viviana Fernandez et Artiste 233.

Ce projet visait à souligner la Journée des droits de l’homme (le 10 décembre) par l’entremise d’un projet artistique collaboratif. Le concept du projet était de confectionner un immense drapeau mosaïque à partir de fragments de drapeaux reflétant les diverses nationalités des étudiants de l’Université d’Ottawa. En plus de fragments de drapeaux, la mosaïque contenait des symboles universels comme la colombe, une flamme, une balance, etc. La bannière a été dévoile à la communauté d'uOttawa le 10 décembre 2015.

Afin de compléter le canevas, le CREDP invite la communauté universitaire à participer à Jigsaw Day, Let’s Play! (la Journée Casse-tête pour faire la fête!), une performance artistique collaborative. Une fois le jeu terminé, l’œuvre résultante sera photographiée et ensuite imprimée sur une bannière en vinyle. Les morceaux du casse-tête seront confectionnés préalablement lors d’un atelier d’art, également ouvert au public. La bannière sera dévoilée à la communauté universitaire le 10 décembre lors d’une cérémonie d’ouverture, suivie d’une discussion avec les artistes.

L’objectif du projet est de véhiculer un message d’unité, de diversité, d’inclusion et d’échange international.

Dates à retenir :

Communiquez avec l'artiste : rbb@us.es


Cette initiative a été appuyée par le Service de vie communautaire, le Département d’arts visuels de l’Université d’Ottawa et l'Université de Séville. Elle s'est également inscrite dans le cadre d’un appel à l’action lancé par la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO.


One Flag to Connect Us All
Haut de page