NOVEMBER 5, 2019 - The More, the Merrier: Can Inclusive Governance Advance Rights in Global Value Chains?

The Human Rights Research and Education Centre is pleased to partner with the Faculty of Law, Common Law & Civil Law Sections, the Office of International Research at the University of Ottawa, the Canadian Council on International Law and Fulbright Canada to present:

The More, the Merrier: Can Inclusive Governance Advance Rights in Global Value Chains?

Competing claims of national interest in the global arena are a symptom of the weakness of prevailing systems to coordinate the impact of transnational value chains with local and international institutions and norms. In the world of work, this governance gap contributes to abusive working conditions, unsafe workplaces, and precarious livelihoods.

Professor Diller will argue that inclusive ‘communities of governance’ hold a potential to help leverage existing systems of law and practice to advance rights and social justice in the global economy. Emerging evidence suggests that consensual regulatory processes in which government engages with representative private actors at local and transnational levels can also help coordinate transnational interactions with national and international law and institutions.

Professor Diller will present her ongoing research into the diverse dynamics and outcomes of transnational cases in which she was closely involved as former counsel for the International Labor Organization, including the Rana Plaza Arrangement.


Tuesday, November 5, 2019
5 to 6:30 p.m.
DESMARAIS Building | DMS4101
(55 Laurier Avenue East, University of Ottawa)

All are welcome.


WELCOME

  • John PACKER | Director, Human Rights Research and Education Centre & Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa

INTRODUCTORY REMARKS

  • Michael HAWES | Chief Executive Officer, Fulbright Canada

SESSION CHAIR AND MODERATOR

  • Penelope SIMONS | Associate Professor and Vice-Dean Research, Faculty of Law, Common Law Section, University of Ottawa

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

  • Janelle DILLER | Fulbright Research Chair on Human Rights and Social Justice 2019-2020, Human Rights Research and Education Centre, University of Ottawa

RESPONDENTS

  • Adelle BLACKETT | Professor of Law & Canada Research Chair in Transnational Labour Law & Development, Faculty of Law, McGill University
  • Stepan WOOD | Professor & Canada Research Chair in Law, Society and Sustainability & Director of the Centre for Law and the Environment, Peter A. Allard School of Law, The University of British Columbia (by videoconference)

CLOSING REFLECTIONS

  • Céline LÉVESQUE | President, Canadian Council on International Law (CCIL) & Full Professor, Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section, University of Ottawa
Back to top

NOVEMBER 5, 2019 - The More, the Merrier: Can Inclusive Governance Advance Rights in Global Value Chains?

Le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne est heureux de s'associer avec la Faculté de droit, Section de Common Law & de droit civil, le Bureau de la recherche internationale à l'Université d'Ottawa, le Conseil canadien de droit international et Fulbright Canada pour présenter :

Plus nous serons, meilleur ce sera: La gouvernance inclusive peut-elle faire progresser les droits dans les chaînes de valeur mondiales?

Les revendications concurrentes d'intérêt national sur la scène mondiale constituent un symptôme de la faiblesse des systèmes en place pour coordonner l’impact des chaînes de valeur transnationales avec les institutions et les normes locales et internationales. Dans le monde du travail, cet écart de gouvernance contribue à des conditions de travail abusives, à des lieux de travail peu sûrs et à des moyens de subsistance précaires.

La professeure Diller fera valoir que les « communautés de gouvernance » inclusives peuvent aider à tirer partie des systèmes juridiques et pratiques existants pour faire progresser les droits et la justice sociale dans l'économie mondiale. De plus, des nouvelles données suggèrent que les processus réglementaires consensuels dans lesquels le gouvernement s'engage avec des acteurs privés représentatifs aux niveaux local et transnational peuvent encourager la coordination des interactions transnationales avec le droit et les institutions aux niveaux national et international.

La professeure Diller présentera ses recherches en cours sur les diverses dynamiques et les résultats de causes transnationales dans lesquelles elle a été étroitement impliquée en tant qu'ancienne avocate de l'Organisation internationale du travail, dont le « Rana Plaza Arrangement ».


Mardi le 5 novembre 2019
17 h à 18 h 30
Pavillon DESMARAIS | DMS4101
(55, avenue Laurier Est, Université d'Ottawa)

Tous et toutes sont bienvenu.e.s.


BIENVENUE

  • John PACKER | Directeur, Centre de recherche et d'éducation sur les droits de la personne et professeur agrégé, Faculté de droit, Université d'Ottawa

REMARQUES INTRODUCTIVES

  • Michael HAWES | Directeur général, Fulbright Canada

PRÉSIDENTE ET MODÉRATRICE DE LA SESSION

  • Penelope SIMONS | Professeure agrégée & vice-doyenne à la recherche, Faculté de droit, Section de Common Law, Université d'Ottawa

ORATRICE PRINCIPALE

  • Janelle DILLER | Chaire de recherche Fulbright sur les droits de la personne et la justice sociale 2019-2020, Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne, Université d'Ottawa

RÉPONDANTS

  • Adelle BLACKETT | Professeure de droit et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit du travail transnational et développement, Faculté de droit, Université McGill
  • Stepan WOOD | Professeur et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en droit, société et durabilité & directeur du Centre du droit et l’environnement, Peter A. Allard School of Law, University of British Columbia (par vidéoconférence)

RÉFLEXIONS FINALES

  • Céline LÉVESQUE | Présidente, Conseil canadien de droit international (CCDI) & professeure titulaire, Faculté de droit, Section de droit civil, Université d'Ottawa
Haut de page