International Human Rights and Canada Database (IHRCanadaDb)

Human Rights Internet (HRI) and the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) of the University of Ottawa launched in 2016 the International Human Rights and Canada Database (IHRCanadaDb).

The database is a tool that houses over 600 official documents, separated into three categories: instruments that are binding under international law (conventions/treaties); non-binding instruments, such as declarations of international organisations; and international monitoring documents, including jurisprudence of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights and the United Nations treaty bodies, which oversee Canada’s compliance with its international human rights obligations. It includes official documents that set out international human rights standards and information about Canada’s official position vis-à-vis international human rights instruments.

Providing free access to such information, in both English and French, HRI and HRREC hope that the database will create greater understanding of international human rights and how they apply to Canada, and foster dialogue on Canada’s implementation of its international human rights obligations and commitments.

The database was updated until 2019. The partners contacted the Canadian Human Rights Commission in September 2019 to donate the fully developed database so they could make good use of this valuable resource.

Project Partner: Human Rights Internet

Academic Advisor: Professor John Packer

Project Coordinator: Janine Lespérance, HRREC Member

Back to top

Base de données sur les droits internationaux de la personne et le Canada (IHRCanadaDb)

Human Rights Internet (HRI) et le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) de l'Université d'Ottawa ont lancé en 2016 Base de données sur les droits internationaux de la personne et le Canada (IHRCanadaDb).

Cette base de données est un outil qui abrite plus de 600 documents officiels, séparés en trois catégories : les instruments contraignants en vertu du droit international (conventions/traités), les instruments non contraignants, tels que les déclarations d'organisations internationales et les documents de surveillance internationale, notamment la jurisprudence de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l'homme et des organes de traités des Nations unies, qui supervisent le respect par le Canada de ses obligations internationales en matière de droits de la personne. Il s'agit de documents officiels qui énoncent les normes internationales en matière de droits de l'homme et d'informations sur la position officielle du Canada vis-à-vis des instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne.

En offrant un accès gratuit à ces informations, en anglais et en français, HRI et le CREDP espèrent que la base de données permettra de mieux comprendre les droits de la personne internationaux et la manière dont ils s'appliquent au Canada, et qu'elle favorisera le dialogue sur la mise en œuvre par le Canada de ses obligations et engagements internationaux en matière de droits de la personne.

La base de données a été mise à jour jusqu'en 2019. Les partenaires ont communiqué avec la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne en septembre 2019 pour faire don de la base de données entièrement développée afin qu'elle puisse faire bon usage de cette précieuse ressource.

Partenaire du projet : Human Rights Internet

Conseiller académique: Professeur John Packer

Coordonnatrice du projet : Janine Lespérance, membre du CREDP

Haut de page