Scholars at Risk uOttawa

Scholars at Risk Ottawa

Scholars at Risk uOttawa

The University of Ottawa and Carleton University joined the Scholars at Risk (SAR) network in 2014. They will co-host a scholar through the program based on one-year appointments.

Scholars at Risk is an international network of higher education institutions dedicated to protecting threatened scholars, preventing attacks on higher education communities and promoting academic freedom worldwide. The network protects scholars suffering grave threats to their lives, liberty and well-being by arranging positions of sanctuary at institutions in the network.

Help us in our efforts to promote human rights and academic freedom in welcoming scholars at risk and give them the freedom to pursue scholarship and research without discrimination, censorship, indimidation, or violence.

Jacques Gaudreau Graduate Scholarship in International Human Rights Law

Jacques Gaudreau Graduate Scholarship in International Human Rights Law

Jacques Gaudreau Graduate Scholarship in International Human Rights Law

The Jacques Gaudreau endowment fund was established in 1992 in memory of Jacques Gaudreau (1947-1989), an officer of the Department of External Affairs, by his friends, colleagues and family. Initially the fund was used to award one or two prizes on an annual basis to undergraduate and graduate students in the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa with the most outstanding mark or essay in the area of international human rights law. In 2015 the Human Rights Research and Education Centre, unit responsible for the fund, requested to transform it into a graduate scholarship that would benefit outstanding students in the Faculty of Law.

The purpose of the fund is to award a scholarship to a graduate (Masters or PhD) student in the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa.

Help us in our efforts to provide our students with exceptional learning opportunities!

Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC)

Human Rights Research and Education Centre

Human Rights Research and Education Centre

In 1981, upon the initiative of Yvon Beaulne, Canada’s former Ambassador to the United Nations, and with the support of Gordon Fairweather, then Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the idea of a human rights centre at the University of Ottawa was born. The Centre strives to bring together educators, researchers and students from other disciplines based on the need to approach issues regarding human rights from a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary perspective, both in order to respect such rights and to explore that which they require in a complex, interconnected world. The HRREC benefits from a bilingual and bijuridical environment. The Centre privileges research, teaching and outreach partnerships, with academic units, governmental and civil society organizations.

Help us in our efforts to provide our students with exceptional learning opportunities, generate research breakthroughs, remain competitive globally and offer a unique bilingual educational and cultural environment!

Back to top

Scholars at Risk uOttawa

Scholars at Risk Ottawa

Scholars at Risk uOttawa

L’Université d’Ottawa et l’Université Carleton ont rejoint le Réseau universitaire Scholars at Risk (SAR) en 2014. Elles accueilleront conjointement un chercheur invité pour une période d’un an.

SAR est un réseau international d’institutions d’enseignement supérieur qui met en avant la liberté universitaire et défend les droits de la personne des universitaires menacés et de leurs communautés partout dans le monde. Le réseau cherche à protéger les chercheurs dont la vie, la liberté ou le bien-être est menacé en leur offrant refuge dans une université partenaire.

Aidez-nous à promouvoir les droits de la personne et la liberté universitaire pour accueillir des chercheurs en danger afin de leur assurer la liberté de poursuivre leurs recherches sans crainte de discrimination de censure, d'intimidation ou de violence.

Bourse d'études supérieures Jacques-Gaudreau en droit international de la personne

Jacques Gaudreau Graduate Scholarship in International Human Rights Law

Bourse d'études supérieures Jacques-Gaudreau en droit international de la personne

Le fonds de dotation Jacques-Gaudreau a été établi en 1992 en l'honneur de Jacques Gaudreau (1947-1989), un agent du Département des affaires externes, par ses amis, ses collègues et sa famille. Initialement, le fonds était utilisé afin d'attribuer un ou deux prix annuels aux étudiants de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa qui s'étaient démarqués par l'entremise de leurs résultats scolaires ou de leurs dissertations dans le domaine du droit international de la personne. En 2015, le Centre de recherche et d'enseignements sur les droits de la personne, unité scolaire en charge de ce fonds, a fait la demande de le transformer en bourses d'études supérieures offertes aux étudiants exceptionnels à la Faculté de droit.

L'objectif du fonds est de décerner une bourse à un étudiant ou une étudiante inscrit(e) à un programme de maîtrise ou de doctorat à la Faculté de droit de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Aidez-nous à appuyer les efforts que nous déployons afin d'offrir aux étudiants des occasions d'apprentissage exceptionnelles!

Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP)

Human Rights Research and Education Centre

Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne

C’est à l’initiative de M. Yvon Beaulne, alors ambassadeur du Canada à l’Organisation des Nations Unies, et de M. Gordon Fairweather, alors président de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne qu’a émergé, en 1981, l’idée de créer un centre des droits de la personne à l’Université d’Ottawa. À l’aide d’une approche multi et interdisciplinaire, le Centre cherche à rassembler des enseignants, des chercheurs et des étudiants avec des professionnels du domaine afin de promouvoir le respect des droits de la personne et d'étudier la protection active et la jouissance de ces droits pour tous. Le CREDP bénéficie d’un environnement bi-juridique et bilingue. Le Centre privilégie la recherche, l’enseignement et la diffusion des connaissances par l’entremise de partenariats entre unités académiques et les organismes gouvernementaux et de la société civile.

Aidez-nous à appuyer les efforts que nous déployons afin d'offrir aux étudiants des occasions d'apprentissage exceptionnelles, de créer des conditions propices à la réalisation de découvertes capitales, d'être concurrentielle à l'échelle mondiale et d'offrir un milieu éducatif et culturel bilingue sans pareil!

Haut de page