Human Rights Clinic

HRREC Human Rights Clinic

Since September 2014, the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) runs a Human Rights Clinic and invites graduate and undergraduate students to develop their knowledge and acquire new skills in relation to projects in Canada and abroad.

The Human Rights Clinic is a project-based initiative that, under the academic guidance of faculty members from the University of Ottawa, aims:

  • To strengthen the protection of human rights, by promoting advocacy, research, training and technical assistance emphasizing their effective implementation.
  • To foster capacity-building and to provide recommendations to ensure that policy and law have a human rights-based approach.
  • To promote research regarding the implementation of human rights standards in Canada and abroad.

Current Projects

Volunteer opportunities are open to undergraduate and graduate students who will work in an interdisciplinary approach on projects directed by the HRREC.

Past Projects

Skills Development Workshops

The Centre organizes skills development workshops for the students participating in the Human Rights Clinic. Topics can include mapping exercises, writing techniques and fact-finding methodologies, among others. 


For further information, please contact us at: hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

To apply to the Clinic, please complete the Student Application Form and submit to hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

To propose a project for the Clinic, please fill out the Project Form and send to hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

Testimonial - Stephany Caro Mejia

Stephany Caro Mejia

Stephany has been a member of the human rights clinic for over a year and will begin her MA in International Relations at New York University in September: “Participating in the human rights clinic highly enriched my undergraduate experience by offering me the opportunity to gain valuable research experience, collaborate in a supportive group setting, and strengthen my knowledge on my topics of interest such as indigenous peoples, extractive industries, and Latin America. As an undergraduate student, I was able to participate in the research and drafting of the Amicus to the Supreme Court of Mexico - an opportunity that I would not have had otherwise. The human rights clinic quickly became my favorite extracurricular activity and a standout component in my Masters applications. “

Testimonial - Mary Kapron

Mary Kapron

Being a member of the Extraterritoriality in Latin American Project at the Human Rights Clinic has been an amazing experience. Working as part of a team with other students, faculty members and non-governmental organizations, I have had the opportunity to conduct research and write reports and amicus curiae submissions on a number of current and pressing human rights issues. Not only has this permitted me to gain practical skills in international human rights practise, the projects that I have worked on have had an actual impact on the promotion and protection of human rights as they have been presented to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, Inter-American Court of Human Rights and the Supreme Court of Mexico. The Human Rights Clinic has inspired me to pursue a career in international human rights law and I will be beginning my LLM at the University of Essex in the fall of 2016.

Testimonial - Véronique Lahaie-Luna

Véronique Lahaie-Luna

"My experience as a Student Research Intern at the Human Rights Clinic within the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) has been one of the most enriching and life changing academic experiences. I was a part of the Scholars at Risk in the Americas Project and the Extractive Industries in Latin America Project teams that have allowed me to see firsthand the injustices that different legal systems impose on high risk communities. For example, I have participated in the production of an amicus curiae submitted to the Inter-American Court of Human Rights as well as reports to the Scholars at Risk Network, monitoring attacks against academic freedom in the Americas. All these first-hand experiences on the different components of legal work have enforced my belief on the importance of culture and respecting diverse opinions; all of which have been integral components in my life and values throughout my studies at the University of Ottawa. All my supervisors and colleagues have supported me to think outside the box, adapt to new environments and to be unafraid to take a stance on my morals and beliefs on the environment and other human rights issues. I am very grateful to have had this interning opportunity during my studies, and I know that future students will have as many valuable lessons and opportunities as I did."

Véronique is a graduated Honours BSocSc International Development and Globalization student at the University of Ottawa. Interested in human rights, gender rights and the environment, she will be pursuing a practicum at the International Center for Ethno-Religious Mediation in New York City, USA, and hopes to pursue her graduate studies in law in the near future.

Testimonial - Tatyana Budilskaya

Tatyana Budilskaya

I have always had a passion for justice on the global scale. From matters related to access to justice, to nuances of the transitional justice process, the Human Rights Clinic has allowed me to bring my passions to fruition. By volunteering at the Clinic for nearly two years, I received exceptional exposure to ongoing challenges in the fields of international law and human rights. The work of the Clinic complimented my studies throughout law school and continues to provide benefit as I article at the federal government. Being part of such a talented team has undoubtedly been a highlight of my young legal career (with special thanks to Salvador Herencia and Aboubacar Dakuyo for being remarkable leaders).

Testimonial - Caitlin Wardrop

Caitlin Wardrop

I am very grateful for my experience with the Human Rights Clinic. As an International Development and Law student, the Clinic allowed me to apply my academic knowledge to projects which I was passionate about. While working on the Handbook on International Standards to Address Crimes of Sexual Violence, it was fulfilling and motivating to know that my work would help practitioners apply and promote human rights internationally. It was inspiring to see how the Clinic’s research and academic work was being put to use in practical situations to assist vulnerable people. My work with the Human Rights Clinic also allowed me to broaden my understanding of international legal topics, something I will bring forwards with me in future academic endeavours. Overall, the Human Rights Clinic was a great way to expand my knowledge outside of the classroom and foster my passion for human rights work!

Testimonial - Victoria Rose King

Victoria Rose King

Having the opportunity to be a student volunteer for the Human Rights Research and Education Centre was a honour. While volunteering at the clinic I was able to challenge myself by learning how to research core international crimes committed by various countries and then upload the relevant documents to the Legal Tools Database; of which equips a world wide amount of users in both richer and materially less resourceful countries, with legal information they require for their legal pursuits. Overall, volunteering for the Human Rights Research and Education Centre was an enriching experience and thus I encourage others who are interested in dipping their toes in International law to join this wonderful and dynamic team!

Testimonial - Danna El-Arab

Danna El-Arab

Volunteering for the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) has been an extremely rewarding and enriching experience. I joined the Human Rights Clinic after attending a Skills Training Session, where I learned about the Clinic’s different projects. I was most interested in the Scholars At Risk (SAR) in the Americas Project, as it gave me the opportunity to apply my communication background to the field of human rights. Since May 2019, I have been working on the SAR Project, which involves writing reports on threats against higher education communities in the Americas. Not only has my work on the SAR Project allowed me to learn more about the importance of defending and protecting academic freedom, it has also allowed me to contribute to great human rights works, including Free to Think 2019. I am truly grateful for my time at the HRREC and for the amazing people that I have met.

Photo Gallery - Human Rights Clinic

Back to top

Clinique sur les droits de la personne

Clinique sur les droits de la personne du CREDP

Depuis septembre 2014, le Centre de Recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) offre une Clinique sur les droits de la personne et invite les étudiants de premier et deuxième cycles à développer leurs connaissances et à acquérir de nouvelles compétences en participant à des projets issus du Canada et de l’étranger.

La Clinique sur les droits de la personne est une initiative conduite sur la base de projets sous la direction académique de membres de l'Université d'Ottawa, avec les objectifs suivants:

  • Renforcer la protection des droits de la personne par le biais de la sensibilisation, la recherche, la formation et l'assistance technique pour leur réalisation efficace.
  • Stimuler le renforcement des capacités et de fournir des recommandations pour s'assurer que les politiques publiques et les lois respectent pleinement les droits de la personne.
  • Promouvoir la recherche en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre des droits de la personne au Canada et ailleurs.

Projets en cours

Des opportunités de bénévolat sont ouvertes aux étudiants de premier cycle et aux étudiants diplômés pour travailler sur les projets interdisciplinaires dirigés par le CREDP.

Projets terminés

Ateliers de développement de compétences

Le Centre offre des ateliers de développement de compétences aux étudiants impliqués dans la Clinique des droits de la personne. Les thèmes peuvent inclure des exercices de mapping, des techniques de rédaction et des méthodes d'établissement des faits, entre autres sujets.


Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter: hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

Pour déposer votre candidature et participer à la Clinique, veuillez remplir le Formulaire pour étudiants et le renvoyer à l’adresse hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

Pour proposer un projet pour la Clinique, veuillez remplir le Formulaire de projet et le renvoyer à l’adresse hrclinic@uottawa.ca.

Témoignage - Stephany Caro Mejia

Stephany Caro Mejia

Stephany est membre de la Clinique sur les droits de la personne depuis plus d'un an et commencera une maîtrise en relations internationale à la New York University en septembre : « Participer à la Clinique sur les droits de la personne a enrichi mon expérience au baccalauréat en m'offrant la chance d'acquérir une bonne expérience en recherche, de collaborer en groupe dans un environnement de soutien et d'approfondir mes connaissance sur des sujets d'intérêt tels que les peuples autochtones, les industries minières et l'Amérique Latine. Comme étudiante au baccalauréat, j'ai pu participer à la recherche et à la rédaction d'un Amicus soumis à la Cour suprême du Mexique - une occasion dont je n'aurais pas pu bénéficier autrement. La Clinique sur les droits de la personne est rapidement devenue l'une de mes activités parascolaires préférées en plus d'être un atout majeur pour mon application à la maîtrise. »

Témoignage - Mary Kapron

Mary Kapron

Faire partie du projet sur juridiction extraterritoriale en Amérique Latine de la Clinique sur les droits de la personne a été une expérience remarquable. En travaillant avec une équipe d'étudiants, de professeurs et d'organisations non-gouvernementales, j'ai eu la chance de mener des recherche et de rédiger des rapports et des amicus sur plusieurs dossiers d'actualité sur les droits de la personne. Cela m'a permis d'acquérir des compétences pratiques en droit international humanitaire et les projets sur lesquels j'ai travaillé ont eu un impact réel sur la promotion et la protection des droits de la personne. Ils ont été entre autres présentés à la Commission Interaméricaine des droits de l'homme, à la Cour Interaméricaine des droits de l'homme et à la Cour Suprême du Mexique. La Clinique sur les droits de la personne m'a inspirée à pousuivre une carrière en droit international humanitaire et je vais commencer ma maîtrise à la University of Essex à l'automne 2016.

Témoignage - Véronique Lahaie-Luna

Véronique Lahaie-Luna

« Mon expérience étudiante comme stagiaire de recherche à la Clinique des droits de la personne au sein du Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) a été l'une des expériences universitaires les plus enrichissantes et les plus marquantes de ma vie. J'ai fait partie des équipes des projets Scholars at Risk dans les Amériques et Entreprises et droits de la personne en Amérique Latine sur les industries extractives qui m'ont permis de voir de près les injustices que les différents systèmes juridiques imposent aux communautés à haut risque. Par exemple, j'ai participé à la production d'un amicus curiae soumis à la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l'homme ainsi que de rapports au réseau Scholars at Risk, qui surveille les attaques contre la liberté académique dans les Amériques. Toutes ces expériences de première main sur les différentes composantes du travail juridique ont renforcé ma conviction sur l'importance de la culture et du respect des diverses opinions ; toutes ces composantes ont fait partie intégrante de ma vie et de mes valeurs tout au long de mes études à l'Université d'Ottawa. Tous mes superviseurs et collègues m'ont aidé à sortir des sentiers battus, à m'adapter à de nouveaux environnements et à ne pas avoir peur de prendre position sur ma morale et mes convictions en matière d'environnement et d'autres questions relatives aux droits de la personne. Je suis très reconnaissante d'avoir eu cette opportunité de stage pendant mes études, et je sais que les futurs étudiants auront autant de leçons et d'opportunités précieuses que moi ».

Véronique est diplômée de l'Université d'Ottawa en développement international et mondialisation. Intéressée par les droits de la personne, les droits des femmes et l'environnement, elle effectuera un stage au Centre international pour la médiation ethno-religieuse à New York, aux États-Unis, et espère poursuivre ses études supérieures en droit dans un avenir proche.

Témoignage - Tatyana Budilskaya

Tatyana Budilskaya

J'ai toujours eu une passion pour la justice à l'échelle mondiale. Des questions liées à l'accès à la justice, aux nuances du processus de justice transitionnelle, la clinique des droits de l'homme m'a permis de concrétiser mes passions. En faisant du bénévolat à la Clinique pendant près de deux ans, j'ai reçu une exposition exceptionnelle aux défis actuels dans les domaines du droit international et des droits de la personne. Le travail de la Clinique été un complément à mes études en droit et a été un atout pendant mon stage au gouvernement fédéral. Faire partie d'une équipe aussi talentueuse a sans aucun doute été l'un des points forts de ma jeune carrière juridique (avec des remerciements particuliers à Salvador Herencia et Aboubacar Dakuyo pour leurs remarquables qualités de leaders).

Témoignage - Caitlin Wardrop

Caitlin Wardrop

Je suis très reconnaissante de mon expérience au sein de la Clinique sur les droits de la personne. En tant qu'étudiante en développement international et en droit, la Clinique m'a permis d'appliquer mes connaissances universitaires à des projets qui me passionnaient. Lorsque je travaillais sur le Manuel de normes internationales pour lutter contre les crimes de violence sexuelle, il était gratifiant et motivant de savoir que mon travail aiderait les praticiens à appliquer et à promouvoir les droits de la personne au niveau international. C'était inspirant de voir comment les recherches et les travaux universitaires de la Clinique étaient utilisés dans des situations pratiques pour aider les personnes vulnérables. Mon travail avec la Clinique sur les droits de la personne m'a également permis d'élargir ma compréhension des sujets juridiques internationaux, ce que j'apporterai avec moi dans mes futurs projets universitaires. Dans l'ensemble, la Clinique sur les droits de la personne a été un excellent moyen d'élargir mes connaissances en dehors de la salle de classe et d'entretenir ma passion pour les droits de la personne !

 

Témoignage - Victoria Rose King

Victoria Rose King

Ce fut un honneur d'avoir la possibilité d'être une étudiante bénévole pour le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne. J'ai pu relever le défi d'apprendre à rechercher les principaux crimes internationaux commis par divers pays et à télécharger les documents pertinents dans la base de données des outils juridiques, qui fournit à un grand nombre d'utilisateurs dans le monde entier, tant dans les pays riches que dans les pays moins bien lotis, les informations juridiques dont ils ont besoin pour leur travail. Dans l'ensemble, mon expérience à la Clinique sur les droits de la personne a été enrichissante et j'encourage donc tous ceux qui souhaitent se plonger dans le droit international à rejoindre cette équipe merveilleuse et dynamique!

Témoignage - Danna El-Arab

Danna El-Arab

Faire du bénévolat pour le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) a été une expérience extrêmement gratifiante et enrichissante. J'ai rejoint la Clinique sur les droits de la personne après avoir assisté à une session de formation au cours de laquelle j'ai découvert les différents projets de la Clinique. J'étais surtout intéressée par le projet Scholars At Risk (SAR) dans les Amériques, car il me donnait l'occasion d'appliquer mes connaissances en communication au domaine des droits de la personne. Depuis mai 2019, je travaille sur le projet SAR, qui consiste à rédiger des rapports sur les menaces contre les communautés de l'enseignement supérieur dans les Amériques. Non seulement mon travail sur le projet SAR m'a permis d'en apprendre davantage sur l'importance de la défense et de la protection de la liberté académique, mais il m'a également permis de contribuer à de grandes œuvres de défense des droits de la personne, notamment Rapport Free to Think 2019. Je suis vraiment reconnaissante pour mon séjour au CREDP et pour les personnes extraordinaires que j'ai rencontrées.

Gallerie de photos - Clinique sur les droits de la personne

Haut de page