Human Rights Clinic

Human Rights Clinic


Since September 2014, the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) runs a HUMAN RIGHTS CLINIC and invites graduate and undergraduate students to develop their knowledge and acquire new skills in relation to projects in Canada and abroad.
  • For information on current Clinic projects, testimonials and past initiatives, please check our website or contact us at: hrclinic@uOttawa.ca.
  • Students can apply to the Clinic by completing a Student Application Form and submitting it to hrclinic@uOttawa.ca.

Summer School

DRC4521 | Summer School International Humanitarian Law

Testimonials


IMPORTANT NOTICE

Due to COVID-19, the Summer School on International Humanitarian Law was not offered in May 2020. We will keep you posted about the 2021 Edition.


The Human Rights Research and Education Centre, the University of Ottawa and the Canadian Red Cross are pleased to invite you to the 15th edition of the Summer School on International Humanitarian Law (IHL) that should be held in May 2021. The goal of this course is to offer students and professionals the fundamentals of IHL and the opportunity to apply this knowledge through realistic case studies.

This program contains 2 Professionalism Hours and is also eligible for up to 28 hours and 45 minutes of Substantive Content with the Law Society of Upper Canada and the Barreau du Québec.

IHL NOW (MAY 2020)

IHL NOW 2020: A Special Online Learning Series


Because of COVID-19, the Canadian Red Cross and the University of Ottawa’s Human Rights Research and Education Centre were partners in the creation of a series of online lectures on International Humanitarian Law that were held from May 25 to 29, 2020.

The goal of the lecture series was to offer students and professionals the fundamentals of IHL. Lectures were facilitated by leading Canadian and international scholars and experts from the Canadian Armed Forces and international organizations.

The 90 minutes lectures were offered in both French and English.

Monday, May 25, 2020
Introduction to International Humanitarian Law (IHL)
Lecturer: Marco Sassòli, Director, Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights, Switzerland

Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Detention and Deprivation of Liberty During Armed Conflicts
Lecturer: Tracey Begley, International Committee of the Red Cross

Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Means and Methods of Warfare / Conduct of Hostilities & Command responsibility
Lecturer: Lieutenant-Commander Carl Monk, Military Law Centre, Canadian Armed Forces

Thursday, May 28, 2020
Special Panel: Careers in Public International Law
Speakers: Andrew Carswell, Independent Consultant (until recently International Committee of the Red Cross Senior Delegate) and Julianne Dunbar, Senior General Counsel & Director General, Military Police Complaints Commission of Canada

Friday, May 29, 2020
International Criminal Law
Lecturer: Nadia Zed, Justice Canada (Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes Section)

Online Courses

DCC2303 | Legal Aspects of Human Rights

Historical origins of international human rights law. Presentation of international law as a legal system that includes rules, principles and requirements, as well as specific methodological research tools.

DCC2703 | Dimensions juridiques des droits de la personne

* Available in French only

Origines historiques du droit international des droits de la personne. Présentation du droit international comme celle d’un système juridique qui comporte des normes, des principes, des exigences et des outils méthodologiques de recherche spécifiques.

DCC3110 | Inter American System of Human Rights

Introduction to the Inter American system of human rights protection by subject areas including womens’ rights, the rights of indigenous peoples, the right to democracy and social rights. Presentation of Organisation of American States (OAS) institutions involved with to human rights; special emphasis is given to themes such as access to justice – empowerement of the poor. Explanation of the specific methodological research tools required to use this regional system.

DCC4119 | Selected Topics in Law: International Human Rights
DCC4519 | Thèmes choisis en droit : Droits de la personne

Problems and challenges affecting the realization and/or implementation of international human rights in contemporary contexts. From environmental protests to debates about the nature of sustainable development, and from concern about the welfare of cross-border migrants or about the recognition of for Indigenous rights to the growing interest in the power of technology to support freedom of speech – human rights are never far from the spotlight.

Directed Readings

Researchers who are members of the Centre can supervise students under the Directed Readings courses.

Past Courses

DCC3113 - CML4109 | Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights

The Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) offered three Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights (AHR) under the theme Indigenous Arts and Culture between 2016 and 2018.

The goal of this course was to explore issues around the Art as a manifestation of human rights and as an instrument for the promotion of human rights. The course was open to students (for credit or not) as well as academics, government employees, NGO and IO staff, indigenous and community representatives, artists, activists and cultural workers. The course featured leading scholars, practitioners and artists and the curriculum blended traditional and artistic pedagogical methods.


DCC3111 | Human Rights in the Age of the Universal Declaration

Human rights and new world order. Non-binding Declaration of human rights. Case studies related to the first 30 years of the Declaration of Human Rights (1948-1978). Promotion of human rights movement and contemporary challenges.

DCC3112 | Human Rights and Justice in Africa: Theory and Practice

Analysis of the ways that human rights and conceptions of justice have been applied, interpreted and debated in the context of contemporary Africa. Relationships between the Western origins and 'universality' of human rights and retributive justice, cultural relativity arguments and needs of transitional societies.

DCC3511 | Les droits de la personne pendant la période de la Déclaration universelle

Droits de la personne et nouvel ordre mondial. Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme non contraignante. Étude de cas portant sur les 30 premières années de la déclaration (1948-1978). Promotion de la cause des droits de la personne et enjeux contemporains.

DCC3512 | Droits de la personne et justice en Afrique : Théorie et pratique

Analyse de la façon dont les droits de la personne et les conceptions de la justice ont été débattus, interprétés et appliqués dans le contexte contemporain en Afrique. Relations entre les origines occidentales et « universelles » des droits de la personne et la justice punitive, les arguments fondés sur le relativisme culturel et les besoins des sociétés en transition.

DCC4522 | Environnement et droits humains

Ce cours avait pour but de permettre à des juristes et non juristes d’acquérir les outils nécessaires à l’analyse des enjeux environnementaux du point de vue des droits humains.

Back to top

Clinique sur les droits de la personne

Clinique sur les droits de la personne


Depuis septembre 2014, le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) offre une CLINIQUE SUR LES DROITS DE LA PERSONNE et invite les étudiants de premier et deuxième cycles à développer leurs connaissances et à acquérir de nouvelles compétences en participant à des projets issus du Canada et de l’étranger.
  • Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les projets actuels de la Clinique, des témoignages et des initiatives passées, veuillez consulter notre site web ou nous contacter à l'adresse suivante : hrclinic@uOttawa.ca.
  • Les étudiants peuvent s'inscrire à la Clinique en remplissant un formulaire pour étudiant et en l'envoyant à l'adresse suivante : hrclinic@uOttawa.ca.

Cours d'été

DRC4521 | Cours d’été Droit international humanitaire

Témoignages


AVIS IMPORTANT

En raison de la COVID-19, le cours d'été en droit international humanitaire n'a pas été offert en mai 2020. Nous vous tiendrons informés du sort de notre édition de 2021.


Le Centre de recherche et d'enseignement sur les droits de la personne, l’Université d’Ottawa et la Croix-Rouge canadienne sont fiers de vous présenter la 15e édition du Cours d’été en Droit international humanitaire (DIH) qui devrait avoir lieu en mai 2021. Les objectifs du cours sont d’enseigner les principes fondamentaux du DIH aux étudiants et aux professionnels, ainsi que de fournir un milieu permettant d’appliquer ces connaissances à des études de cas réalistes.

Ce programme contient 2 heures de professionnalisme et contient également jusqu'à 28 heures et 45 minutes consacrées au droit de fond auprès du Barreau du Haut-Canada et du Barreau du Québec.

DIH MAINTENANT (MAI 2020)

DIH MAINTENANT 2020 : Une série spéciale d'apprentissage en ligne


En raison de la COVID-19, la Croix-Rouge canadienne et le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne de l’Université d’Ottawa on été partenaires dans la création d'une série de cours gratuits en ligne sur plusieurs enjeux du droit international humanitaire (DIH) qui ont eu lieu du 25 au 29 mai 2020.

L’objectif de cette série de cours était d’enseigner les principes fondamentaux du DIH aux étudiants et aux professionnels. Les cours ont été dispensés par des experts canadiens et internationaux provenant du milieu académique, des Forces armées canadiennes et d’organisations internationales.

Les cours, d’une durée de 90 minutes chacun, étaient offerts en français et en anglais.

Lundi 25 mai 2020
Introduction au droit international humanitaire (DIH)
Enseignant: Steve Tiwa Fomekong, Université Laval

Mardi 26 mai 2020
Détention et privation de liberté pendant les conflits armés
Enseignante : Mélissa Beaulieu Lussier, Cour pénale internationale

Mercredi 27 mai 2020
Moyens et méthodes de guerre / Conduite des hostilités & Responsabilité du commandant
Enseignant: Major Philippe Doucet, Centre de droit militaire des Forces canadiennes, Forces armées canadiennes

Jeudi 28 mai 2020
Panel spécial: Carrières en droit international public
Intervenants : Patrick Ulrich, Professionnel en négociation de sécurité et d'accès pour les opérations humanitaires et de stabilité à l'international et Anne-Marie La Rosa, Directrice opérationnelle et conseillère principale droit et politique, Organisation international du travail

Vendredi 29 mai 2020
Droit pénal international
Enseignante : Marie-Claude Roberge, Ministère de la justice du Canada (section des crimes de guerre et crimes contre l’humanité)

Cours en ligne

DCC2303 | Legal Aspects of Human Rights

*Disponible en anglais seulement

Historical origins of international human rights law. Presentation of international law as a legal system that includes rules, principles and requirements, as well as specific methodological research tools.

DCC2703| Dimensions juridiques des droits de la personne

Origines historiques du droit international des droits de la personne. Présentation du droit international comme celle d’un système juridique qui comporte des normes, des principes, des exigences et des outils méthodologiques de recherche spécifiques.

DCC3110 | Inter American System of Human Rights

*Disponible en anglais seulement

Introduction to the Inter American system of human rights protection by subject areas including womens’ rights, the rights of indigenous peoples, the right to democracy and social rights. Presentation of Organisation of American States (OAS) institutions involved with to human rights; special emphasis is given to themes such as access to justice – empowerement of the poor. Explanation of the specific methodological research tools required to use this regional system.

DCC4519 | Thèmes choisis en droit : Droits de la personne
DCC4119 | Selected Topics in Law: International Human Rights

Problèmes et défis affectant la réalisation et/ou la mise en œuvre des droits de l'homme internationaux dans les contextes contemporains. Des protestations environnementales aux débats sur la nature du développement durable, en passant par les préoccupations relatives au bien-être des migrants transfrontaliers ou à la reconnaissance des droits des autochtones, sans oublier l'intérêt croissant pour le pouvoir de la technologie à l'appui de la liberté d'expression, les droits de l'homme ne sont jamais loin des projecteurs.

Lectures dirigées

Les chercheurs membres du Centre peuvent superviser des étudiants dans le cadre de Lectures Dirigées.

Cours antérieurs

DCC3513 - CML4109 | Cours d'été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne

Le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) a offert, de 2016 à 2018, trois éditions du Cours d’été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne sous le thème de l’Art et la culture autochtones.

L’objectif du cours était d’explorer les problématiques liées aux arts comme manifestation des droits de la personne et comme instrument pour la promotion des droits de la personne. Le cours était ouvert aux étudiants (avec ou sans crédit), académiciens, employés du gouvernement, personnes qui travaillent dans des ONG et des organisations internationales, représentants autochtones ou communautaires, activistes, artistes et travailleurs culturels. Les animateurs du cours étaient des universitaires reconnus, des praticiens et des artistes et le cours a utilisé un mélange de méthodes pédagogiques traditionnelles et artistiques.


DCC3111 | Human Rights in the Age of the Universal Declaration

Human rights and new world order. Non-binding Declaration of human rights. Case studies related to the first 30 years of the Declaration of Human Rights (1948-1978). Promotion of human rights movement and contemporary challenges.

DCC3112 | Human Rights and Justice in Africa: Theory and Practice

Analysis of the ways that human rights and conceptions of justice have been applied, interpreted and debated in the context of contemporary Africa. Relationships between the Western origins and 'universality' of human rights and retributive justice, cultural relativity arguments and needs of transitional societies.

DCC3511 | Les droits de la personne pendant la période de la Déclaration universelle

Droits de la personne et nouvel ordre mondial. Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme non contraignante. Étude de cas portant sur les 30 premières années de la déclaration (1948-1978). Promotion de la cause des droits de la personne et enjeux contemporains.

DCC3512 | Droits de la personne et justice en Afrique : Théorie et pratique

Analyse de la façon dont les droits de la personne et les conceptions de la justice ont été débattus, interprétés et appliqués dans le contexte contemporain en Afrique. Relations entre les origines occidentales et « universelles » des droits de la personne et la justice punitive, les arguments fondés sur le relativisme culturel et les besoins des sociétés en transition.

DCC4522 | Environnement et droits humains

Ce cours avait pour but de permettre à des juristes et non juristes d’acquérir les outils nécessaires à l’analyse des enjeux environnementaux du point de vue des droits humains.

Haut de page