DCC3113 / CML4109S - Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights (AHR)

2nd Edition (June 19-23, 2017)

Poster | Program | Registration Form | Request for Qualifications | Q&A | Testimonials

Deadline to apply:

  • For Credit Participants: APRIL 17, 2017
  • For Non-credit Participants: MAY 30, 2017

The Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) is preparing the second edition of the Summer School on The Arts and Human Rights (AHR).

The goal of this course is to explore issues around the Art as a manifestation of human rights and as an instrument for the promotion of human rights. The course is open to students (for credit or not) as well as academics, government employees, NGO and IO staff, indigenous and community representatives, artists, activists and cultural workers. Each year, the summer school will focus in a particular theme.

For 2017, the theme will be Indigenous Arts and Culture and the course will be offered only in English. Enrolment is limited to 40 participants. Those who successfully complete the training will receive a certificate of recognition from the Human Rights Research and Education Centre.

The Course features leading scholars, practitioners and artists. Academic direction will be provided by Professors John Packer, HRREC Director, and Chantal Rodier, Faculty of Arts, uOttawa.

The Connection between the Arts and Human Rights

In recognition of the Arts as an integral medium of learning and expression, the HRREC launched the Arts and Human Rights Program. This powerful initiative seeks to raise awareness and engage individuals in a multidisciplinary interrogation of human rights issues framed through various forms of creative artistic expression such as visual, performance, media, cinematography, musical and literary arts. The AHR summer course brings to life the teaching component of the program and explores areas of study directly related to the foci of the HRREC. The curriculum blends traditional and artistic pedagogical methods.


Fees

Students (Certificate only): $600 **

Students (Certificate + Credits): *Please verify the Registrar's website.

Other participants: $950 **

*Undergraduate students (regardless of the institution they are attending) who wish to take the course for credit will be subject to the University of Ottawa’s tuition & fees policy.  

** The Indigenous Biocultural Exchange Fund (IBEX) Spring 2017 run by the Institute of International Education can support indigenous participation in a variety of international, short-term activities related to biocultural diversity and natural resource preservation including this Summer School (only for non-credit participants). Applicants will be prompted to submit a proposed itemized budget. For more information, please contact the Indigenous Biocultural Exchange Fund at ibex@iie.org (www.iie.org/ibex).

Registered students benefit from discounted rates in the University of Ottawa residences. Breakfast and snacks are provided during the week-long course.

Please do not send your payment with the registration form, instructions for payment will be sent upon confirmation of registration.

Review the information provided in the program and the registration form. After reading the documents, specific questions can be answered by contacting arthrrec@uottawa.ca.


Organizing Committee

John Packer, Professor and Co-director  |  Chantal Rodier, Professor (Faculty of Arts) and Co-director  |  Courtney Doagoo, Ph.D. Candidate and Part-time Professor Viviana Fernandez, Assistant Director, HRREC  |  Omid Milani, Ph.D. Candidate in Law

DCC3113 / DRC4731 / CML4109S - Summer School on the Arts and Human Rights - 1st Edition (June 2016)

Inaugural Edition (June 20-24, 2016)

Poster | Program | Registration Form | Contributors

Back to top

DCC3513 - Cours d’été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne

2e édition (19-23 juin 2017)

Affiche | Programme | Formulaire d'inscription | Demande de qualifications | FAQ | Témoignages

Date limite pour appliquer :

  • Participants par crédit : 17 AVRIL 2017
  • Participants non-crédit :30 MAI 2017

VEUILLEZ NOTER QUE LE COURS SERA UNIQUEMENT OFFERT EN ANGLAIS EN 2017
(DCC3113 / DRC4731).


Le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) prépare la deuxième édition du Cours d’été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne.

L’objectif du cours est d’explorer les problématiques liées aux arts comme manifestation des droits de la personne et comme instrument pour la promotion des droits de la personne. Le cours est ouvert aux étudiants (avec ou sans crédit), académiciens, employés du gouvernement, personnes qui travaillent dans des ONG et des organisations internationales, représentants autochtones ou communautaires, activistes, artistes et travailleurs culturels. Chaque année, l’Ecole d’été se penchera sur un thème en particulier.

Pour 2017, le thème sera l’Art et la culture autochtones et le cours sera offert seulement en anglais. Le nombre d’inscriptions est limité à 40 participant(e)s. Les personnes qui termineront la formation avec succès recevront un certificat de reconnaissance du Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne.

Les animateurs du cours sont des universitaires reconnus, des praticiens et des artistes. La direction académique du cours sera assurée par les Professeurs John Packer, Directeur du CREDP, et Chantal Rodier, Faculté des arts.

La connexion entre les Arts et les Droits de la personne

En guise de reconnaissance que les arts forment un médium intégral d'apprentissage et d'expression, le CREDP a lancé le Programme sur les arts et les droits de la personne. Cette puissante initiative cherche à rehausser le niveau de sensibilisation et à inciter les gens à participer à une interrogation multidisciplinaire sur des questions relevant des droits de la personne sous diverses formes d'expression artistique créative telles que les arts visuels, les arts du spectacle, les arts médiatiques, l'art cinématographique, les arts musicaux et littéraires. L’Ecole d’été correspond au volet enseignement du programme et explore les domaines d'étude directement liés aux éléments centraux du CREDP. Le cours utilise un mélange de méthodes pédagogiques traditionnelles et artistiques.


Frais

Étudiant(e)s (Certificat seulement) : $600

Étudiant(e)s (Certificat plus crédits) : *Veuillez vérifier le site Web du registraire.

Autres participants : $950

* Les étudiants du premier cycle (peu importe l’institution où ils sont inscrits) qui veulent obtenir des crédits seront sujets à la politique des frais de scolarité de l’Université d’Ottawa.  

** Le Fonds Indigenous Biocultural Exchange (IBEX) Spring 2017 géré par l'Institute of International Education peut soutenir la participation dans bon nombre d'activités courtes et internationales liées à la diversité bioculturelle et la préservation des ressources naturelles, dont cette école d'été (seulement pour les participants sans crédit). Les candidats devront soumettre un budget détaillé à l'organisme. Pour plus de détails, veuillez communiquer directement avec le Indigenous Biocultural Exchange Fund à ibex@iie.org.

Les participants inscrits bénéficieront d’escomptes aux résidences de l’Université d’Ottawa, Les déjeûners et les collations sont offerts durant le cours. SVP ne pas envoyer de paiement de frais avec le formulaire d’inscription. Les informations concernant le paiement de frais seront envoyées suite à l’acceptation de votre candidature.

Veuillez lire tous les renseignements contenus dans le programme et le formulaire d'inscription. Après cette lecture, vous pouvez communiquer avec arthrrec@uottawa.ca si vous avez des questions spécifiques.


Comité organisateur

John Packer, Professeur et co-directeur  |  Chantal Rodier, Professeure (Faculté des arts) et co-directrice  |  Courtney Doagoo, Candidate au doctorat et professeure à temps partiel |  Viviana Fernandez, Directrice adjointe, CREDP  |  Omid Milani, Candidat au doctorat en droit

DCC3513 - Cours d’été sur les Arts et les Droits de la personne - 1ère édition (juin 2016)

Première édition (20-24 juin 2016)

Affiche | Programme | Formulaire d'inscriptionIntervenants

Haut de page