History

In 1981, upon the initiative of Yvon Beaulne, Canada’s former Ambassador to the United Nations, and with the support of Gordon Fairweather, then Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Human Rights Commission, the idea of a human rights centre at the University of Ottawa was born.

That same year, fifteen of Canada’s leading constitutional and human rights scholars were invited by the then first Directors of the Centre - Gérald A. Beaudoin and Walter Tarnapolsky - to write chapters discussing the various sections of the newly entrenched Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. After extensive research and editing by the two Directors, the work resulted in a landmark human rights text in Canada entitled “The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms: A Commentary”. The publication, published in 1982, soon became the leading work on the Charter and heavily influenced the Supreme Court of Canada in its interpretation of this fundamental constitutional document of Canada. In 1985 and 1993, the Centre published a 2nd and 3rd Editions in both official languages.

One of the oldest in Canada and North America, the Human Rights Research and Education Centre (HRREC) comprises researchers from the Faculties of Common Law, Civil Law, Arts and Social Sciences. Since its creation, the Centre has developed international research and education programs focusing on countries such as Argentina, Brazil, China, El Salvador, India, Indonesia, Kosovo, Thailand, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe, among others.

The Centre has grown over time through the dedication and talent of its past directors: late Senator Gérald A. Beaudoin, late Judge Walter Tarnapolsky, Prof. Ed Ratushny, William F. Pentney, Prof. William W. Black, Prof. Errol Mendes, Prof. Constance Backhouse; Prof. Shelia McIntyre, Marie-Claude Roberge, Prof. Joanne St. Lewis and Prof. Lucie Lamarche.

About us

The Centre strives to bring together educators, researchers and students from other disciplines based on the need to approach issues regarding human rights from a multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary perspective, both in order to respect such rights and to explore that which they require in a complex, interconnected world. The HRREC benefits from a bilingual and bijuridical environment. The Centre privileges research, teaching and outreach partnerships, with academic units, governmental and civil society organizations.

How to engage with HRREC?

  • Become a Member of the Centre.
  • Attend our events and participate in our research projects and outreach initiatives. Volunteer opportunities are open to undergraduate and graduate students. For information, please contact hrrec@uottawa.ca.
Back to top

Historique

C’est à l’initiative de M. Yvon Beaulne, alors ambassadeur du Canada à l’Organisation des Nations Unies, et de M. Gordon Fairweather, alors président de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne qu’a émergé, en 1981, l’idée de créer un centre des droits de la personne à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Durant 1981, les premiers Directeurs du centre - Gérald A. Beaudoin et Walter Tarnapolsky – ont invité quinze experts constitutionnels et des droits de la personne canadiens à écrire des chapitres pour discuter des sections de la nouvelle Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Le travail aboutit en un texte pionnier sur les droits de la personne intitulé « La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés : Un commentaire ». La publication, parue en 1982, s'imposa comme un ouvrage incontournable avec une grande influence auprès de la Cour suprême du Canada dans le cadre de son interprétation de la Charte. Le Centre publia une deuxième et troisième éditions en 1985 et 1993 dans les deux langues officielles.

Le Centre de recherche et d’enseignement sur les droits de la personne (CREDP) est un des plus anciens au Canada et comprend des chercheurs issus des Facultés de Droit, des Arts et des Sciences Sociales. Depuis sa création, le Centre a développé des programmes de recherche et d’enseignement à l’international avec une attention particulière sur des pays comme l’Argentine, le Brésil, la Chine, El Salvador, l’Inde, l’Indonésie, le Kosovo, la Thaïlande, le Sri Lanka et le Zimbabwe, entre autres.

Le CREDP a par ailleurs pu croître grâce à l’apport inestimable de ses directeurs et de ses directrices antérieur-es : le regretté Sénateur Gérald A. Beaudoin ; le regretté Juge Walter Tarnopolsky ; le professeur Ed Ratushny ; William F. Pentney; le professeur William W. Black ; le professeur Errol Mendes ; la professeure Constance Backhouse ; la professeure Sheila McIntyre ; Me Marie Claude Roberge ;  la professeure Joanne St Lewis; et la professeure Lucie Lamarche.

Qui sommes-nous?

À l’aide d’une approche multi et interdisciplinaire, le Centre cherche à rassembler des enseignants, des chercheurs et des étudiants avec des professionnels du domaine afin de promouvoir le respect des droits de la personne et d'étudier la protection active et la jouissance de ces droits pour tous. Le CREDP bénéficie d’un environnement bi-juridique et bilingue. Le Centre privilégie la recherche, l’enseignement et la diffusion des connaissances par l’entremise de partenariats entre unités académiques et les organismes gouvernementaux et de la société civile.

Comment s’engager avec le CREDP?

  • Devenez membre du Centre.
  • Assistez aux évènements et participez aux projets de recherche et aux initiatives de sensibilisation. Des occasions de bénévolat sont disponibles pour les étudiants du premier et du deuxième cycle. Pour des informations complémentaires, veuillez contacter hrrec@uottawa.ca.
Haut de page